FIRST REAL MIX! HARDCORE!

dankarghh

Nov 26, 2009
Australia
Hey guys,

this is the first band i've ever reallly recorded and mixed, so im pretty new to this. they have a gig coming up on the weekend and want to throw around some crappy demo cds at it, so i'd love to get some feedback so i can make it the best i can by then!

drums are recorded and replaced. Guitars are lepous new LeGoin (great) however i really don't do it justice, im terrible at pulling guitar tones. Bass is well.. the boys wanted it to sound like this, they all dig the clacky loud sound. i'd love some feedback on the mix as a whole. vocals are nt1a.

The guys are fairly happy with it so far, but im not so pleased!
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3200729/DONNIECbass.mp3

Whose the band? Just noticed you're from Australia. Which part? I'd totally change the tone on the gtrs. I'm just listening on shit headphones ATM though from my iPhone so I can't rly give you much.

brisbane hey? im in cairns, just moved there from townsville and getting into a bit of recording etc. the dudes seem to be against mids in the guitars so i'm not too sure. how is everything else sitting? they're called well above swell. real new.

i thought i better add, im mixing on stereo speakers, i dont have monitors yet! help me out guys!

@amarshism: nice client list! many a familiar name

hey dude, melbournite here. I reckon it sounds pretty good but i'm still learning the ins and outs of the production game, having said that though I think it needs more bass in it. The vocals sound clear but on first impression they sound like they sit slightly above the mix.

Think i might have to play with that new LePou plugin, didn't even know about it.

thanks man i'll give it a play around. i really need help with guitars, im terrible at pulling tones, even from sims. it's embaressing.