New to PC recording and could use a few tips...

Daemon Golgoth

New Metal Member
Feb 27, 2012
Hey all...

I'm a bit new to computer recording and I'm looking for some help with putting together a simple set up that requires only myself to create a song from start to finish. I'm a metal guitarist first, and singer/bassist/drummer last. Money is not THAT much of a concern, but I don't want to spend an arm and a leg for something that's more than I need.

I've recently learned about USB/Firewire Audio Interfaces and was looking at the PreSonus Audio Box Studio- something simple and cheap to get me started. It comes with a condenser mic, headphones, the DAW software, and of course the 2-channel audio interface. I think I'm headed in the right direction.

According to the PreSonus tutorial I watched, I'm supposed to be able to plug my guitar right into the interface and record that way, but I'm a bit particular about my distortion. I'm also reluctant to use the onboard distortion, so what do I use if I want quality distortion that could be equivalent to mic'ing a stack in a good room?

I've read about preamps that can be used for recording or for live applications such as the Mesa Recto Recording Preamp. Is that something that I could use to get good tone while recording? Is a preamp over-the-top or just what I need? I thought about just going through a distortion pedal, but most pedals I've run through my stack or any amp sounds like crap. None of them come close to an actual head. I'm not quite sure what my options are.