Newbie in need of some pointers

Munki

New Metal Member
Jul 2, 2009
I'm new to this place, but I've been lurking around these forums for a bit now.
Since it's my first post, I guess it's just polite to introduce myself. I'm Josh, I live in Dubai, UAE(i noticed our mates "Nervecell" have their own forum here as well!:headbang:). I must say, this place is a pool of information that I could dive into, especially since I'm relatively new to this stuff and barely know anything other than what I've picked up from online sources and such.

Anyway, I recently bought Protools LE with the MBox2 Pro, and I'm trying to get some stuff recorded for my band Of Brutality and Grace. The only equipment I've got is a macbook pro, Logic 8, Pro tools L.E 7 and the mbox, so most of what I need to do is all software based. I recently recorded this, and it lacks a lot of "energy" and all sorts of other stuff I find.

Since I've got no Mic's, all the guitars were DI'd and run through Guitar Rig(I'm a drummer and know fuck all about guitar stuff, but I was aiming for arch enemy's Doomsday sound for the guitars), but that's about it with the guitars.