Novembers Doom

JayKeeley

Be still, O wand'rer!
Apr 26, 2002
www.royalcarnage.com
I have The Knowing and To Welcome the Fade. I'd been listening to TK for quite some time before the Agalloch show and I really fell for it, especially tracks like "Awaken" and "Harmony Divine". Parts of that album remind of early Anathema, and there's certainly some Opeth worship going on (similar chord structures etc).

I bought TWTF at the show and I'm not sure what to think of it yet. It's certainly not as immediate as TK, but does have its moments.

Their live show was exceptional by the way.

Thoughts / Opinions?

Novembers Doom is a bit above average, but I don't necessarily think they are premier league. The Knowing is their finest hour by far.

To Welcome The Fade is well crafted album. Although I am no expert in this genre, I feel that this album is actually better in song construction that Opeth's Blackwater Park. The reason is the BWP seems to go off on a drunken tangent during the album whereas TWTF just maintains its composure throughout, so you feel rooted to what you are listening to. Excellent tracks - Not the Strong, Broken and the track Within My Flesh simply blows me away each time I listen to it.

Good band overall, but the whole 'long straight hair with cowboy hat' image really needs to be left to Brett Michaels.

I picked up a compilation disc of theirs at the show - they were handing them out for free. Just listened to it tonight - the stuff they did when they were on Martyr Music isn't bad at all (Of Sculptured Ivy and Stone Flowers material).

JayKeeley said:
Good band overall, but the whole 'long straight hair with cowboy hat' image really needs to be left to Brett Michaels.

I picked up a compilation disc of theirs at the show - they were handing them out for free. Just listened to it tonight - the stuff they did when they were on Martyr Music isn't bad at all (Of Sculptured Ivy and Stone Flowers material).