One for the instru-mentalists

Jul 26, 2006
Middlesbrough, England
OK ladies and gentlemen, I'm an amateur guitarist and I've had one guitar lesson in my entire life.
I've recently hit a wall where I just lack enthusiasm in playing or learning anything new. It seems that no matter what I play it sounds rubbish and I just feel like giving up.

Soooooo before I do, have you guys ever hit that kind of plateau and what did you do to get past it?
Also how many hours a day do you guys practice? Not as the Iron maidens but when at home etc.

I really dont want to give up, but unless I can find some inspiration and some dedication I'm afraid I'll just let my family of guitars gather dust and the strings gather rust.

Take lessons. Also do you switch genres in your playing?

Get a drum machine and have it play rhythms in some weird style and practice your scales to a whole new beat.

Jim

I've actually found those trying time periods (and we all have em!) are times of growth in your playing and your mind. If you push through it you will come out a better player. It's like you have so much input, then your mind is full and can't process anything new so you plateu, but at this time you are actually absorbing all the input you've collected. Don't fret (pun intended) putting your guitar down for a day or two, it's normal. It is hard to play for fun when it feels like a chore just to make something sound good , I've experienced this so many times it's not even funny. Just don't resign yourself from it permanently. You'll start to get the itch again! :headbang:

I totally agree with Linda. Plateaus are a normal part of your journey. While they can be frustrating, it feels really really good when you break through. That feeling more than makes up for the frustration along the way. Of course, one can say that I've been stuck in a plateau now for a few years... lol At least if you ask the rest of my bandmates. :)