PC vs Mac / ProTools vs Cubase quality an issue?

Humidfume

Hey guys, whats up?

I'm studying at university and really starting to dislike it, I record, mix and master everything at my house on a PC and using Cubase.

I'm sick of these uni kids spouting that PC's suck and Mac own's them etc, that ProTools is the best because it's industry standard and people should be laughed at for using Cubase etc.

It's an immature, opinionated cesspit of bullshit to me...

So while I'm still pretty firm in my thoughts of knowledge and experience will always prevail over less knowledge and experience on better hardware (within reason), is there really any truth in this?

I personally dig my outcomes etc and my mixes, I feel like they are at the level they are at because of me, not my hardware. I feel like, my lack of practice and knowledge is getting me my average sounding recordings (I like them because I've only just started doing home recordings etc), not the fact that I'm using a PC and Cubase.

So really, guys.. if you have Andy on a Mac and PT and Andy on a PC with Cubase (if he was at the same level on both types of hardware / software) would there really be that much of a difference?

Is the fact I'm using a PC with Cubase really going to stop me from getting professional sounding recordings from my house? (Don't say, no your mic's etc are, I'm aware of this, but imagine that I have all of the gear available, and only focus on the PC / MAc and PT vs Cubase equation / question).

So yeah, I appologise if this has been covered to death, I did a quick search, but couldn't find anything (note the word quick!).

I don't need long answers etc (very welcome to go in depth about it though), I just was after a quick yes and this is why or no it's bullshit.

many thanks guys!

Joe

So really, guys.. if you have Andy on a Mac and PT and Andy on a PC with Cubase (if he was at the same level on both types of hardware / software) would there really be that much of a difference?