Pickups and distortion for pinch hormonics?

Moloch

Oct 6, 2004
I got a (wait for it..) bronze series warlock.. ouch.. I know.. I really enjoy pinch hormonics, but my metal zone broke, so I've been using a combo of DS1 and my built in distortion, with a marshall 30DX, not so easy for pinch hormonics.
So what pedal and pickups would you guys suggest?

Well, i can tell you that i was playing my friends Bronze warlock through my Marshall AVT and then through my Band's Vamp patch, and i could get better pinch harmonics out of BDSM pickups than my EMGs (i.e, they sounded a lot cooler)

But i guess (upon rereading) That i didn't answer your question.

Pedals i have NO experience with (I hate effects), so, i can only recomend the following pickups

Seymour Duncan Dimebucker
Seymour Duncan Invader
EMG 81/85/89
Dimarzio X2n (haven't used but heard great things)

If you know what you're doing you can do pinch harmonics with any kind of distortion, I mean just crank the gain on both your pedal and onboard and go for it man! It's all about gain....I mean shit, I play ph's on my acoustic. But definitely, just turn up the gain and go for it!

nataservant said:
PH's can be played on anything. You just have to find the right place on the string and have the right technique.
^ bingo

different strings have different "nodes" which are small areas on the string, those places are the "sweet spots" for pinch harmonics. just run yoru pick up and down, trying in various places, and remember the different tones for different positions.

Moloch said:
I got a (wait for it..) bronze series warlock.. ouch.. I know.. I really enjoy pinch hormonics, but my metal zone broke, so I've been using a combo of DS1 and my built in distortion, with a marshall 30DX, not so easy for pinch hormonics.
So what pedal and pickups would you guys suggest?

I'm gunna tell you the exact same thing I tell everyone else when they ask for suggestions...