Please judge/criticise my first DI's and mix

arvoitus

Dec 12, 2006
The Netherlands
First of all, thank you all for the knowledge that is here available! Everytime im reading on this forum i'm learning something new.

Me and my girlfriend are covering "The Gathering" by Delain (she is doing vocals, but we will be doing that this week).

Guitars are: Grover Jackson RR custom (Standard A tuning) with Blackouts -> Sescom SM-1A -> EMU 0404 USB -> Cubase.
Bass is Steinberg Virtual Bassist (trying out).
Drums are pretty much standard SSD into parallel comp.

Here are the 4 DI's and a backingtrack:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3822426/TG - DI's and Drumandbass.rar

This is my try on it:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3822426/TG - Full Mix.wav

This is my first time EVER recording. Please give me your opinion and advice about my playing/timing/di's/mix/guitar sound/etc. Thank you!

Well the guitars are a little overgained IMO and not very tight. But for a first recording, it´s very good. I wish that my first recordings were like this.

Well the guitars are a little overgained IMO and not very tight. But for a first recording, it´s very good. I wish that my first recordings were like this.
Alright, thank you :) Is the playing not tight with the backing track, or are the 4 layers of guitars not tight with each other?

I'm trying to record the vocals this week for it.

I zoomed in on your guitar tracks and they are quite good but the 4 guitar tracks should be a little tighter relative to each other.
The drum and bass track is also good but the guitar tracks are not tight enough relative to the backing track.
Your mix is messy and does not sound tight at all but don't worry because your song will be good when you fix the tightness problem.

The real messyness of your song is due to the backing track not properly matching the guitar track, in my opinion.
Did you record the guitar parts while listening to the backing track because it does not sound as though you did to me ?