Pricing

jeid

Terribad
Mar 9, 2009
Scotland
I know there was a thread about how much to charge not so long ago, but I'm looking for sort of specific advice.

Right now I'm doing demos for a band, still trying to make them sound as badass as possible though. They're good friends of mine and it's the first time I've charged a band for recording. I offered £60 a track.

Another couple of bands have gotten in touch since then and asked for recording. I'm good friends with one of them and said that since I'm just starting out, I'd do £60 a track but it's only cos I'm just starting and prices are likely to rise as I get more practise/confidence/get better etc.

Another band have asked me to record them and I've never ever heard them before. I reckon they'll take a fair bit of work. Is it really good business practise for me to be asking for more money from them because I think they'll suck?

I've been asked to record drums for a solo guys EP as well, 5 tracks. I spend aaaages on drums. I was thinking of charging £150 for the 5 tracks including quantizing and sampling.

I don't wanna rip people off and have people be like "Oh Jeid ripped me off... motherfucker"

I live in a small town so I wanna keep my options open for recording bands.

I think it depends on how much time you spend man.
Say if you spend a week mixing a song for a band i think 60 is cutting it short for yourself.

I charge around $200-$300 for a full day, and that will turn into more like 2 days just because if its not good enough in one day i will throw in a day because i don't want them to leave with something they hate(I also have a HEAP of spare time).
I will not be doing this when my profile rises, but for starting out it works and it makes sure customers are happy with what they get.
If I'm mixing a song i will mix until they really like the mix, even if it takes a few weeks.
So in the end my price isn't high.