Pro tools setup upgrade - using a console in the studio with Pro Tools

fade_2_black

Apr 11, 2006
www.keirlefoh.com
Since Pro Tools 9 began offering compatibility with different soundcards and interfaces, I've been thinking about taking the step up and getting a nice analog console for the studio. Not only will this offer nicer preamp and EQ sections on the way in, it'll also offer much better summing and a more hands-on approach to mixing down.

As I'm primarily a livesound engineer, the latter of the advantages appeals to me a lot. I'd love to mix more out of the box and I'd also love to be able to easily patch in outboard gear.

Now, obviously in the past this would have been an extremely expensive project - having to get a full HD system with multiple expensive Pro Tools I/O units. However, now presumably there are more affordable options for linking multiple interfaces and getting heaps of ins and outs. Does anyone have any good experience with interfaces they would recommend?

For the money, it's going to be tough to beat the Lynx Aurora 16. 16 in/out for much less cash than Digi's interfaces. I'd probably go that route if I was starting from scratch.

Not sure what your budget is, but on the low end of things the new Allen & Heath GSR24M looks very nice. And it would be a really easy all in one solution for something like this.

Thanks for the input guys. Already have a potential console lined up so something like the A&H setup isn't really what I'm after. Aurora 16 looks nice, but is pricey considering a few would be needed in order to get the I/O I'd need.

How about the Motu gear - namely the MOTU 24I/O.. Anybody have experience with these? I've had a bit of a read up and it seems, using the PCI-424 card, up to four of these units can be linked together, effectively offering up to 96I/O.. Obviously at this stage I don't need this many but being able to like two of the units together would be perfect, 48 ins and outs..