Progtology

I believe he only uses 4-string basses. The Kubicki Factor and the Fender Jazz Bass. He DOES use the Hipshot-D tuner type things and that drops the Low-E to a D.

Asmogriff

Just a 4 string Kubicki Factor Bass for Progtology. I drop tune to D in that one as Petrucci 914 says. I had a Fender Jazz 5 I used on Time Lost.

NP : Our set list for the upcomong tour on disc. :OMG:

Thanks,

I'm currently trying to tab out Progtology and I have soon tabbed most of the keyboards and guitars but since I'm not really good at playing the bass I don't know how I'll work that out. You wouldn't happen to have any tabs lying around somewhere?

Erik

Sorry no Tabs lying about Erik.

The bass follows the guitar pretty closely throughout this one though. Like real closely. The crazy bass slap fills are kind of strange, I kind of made them up while Doug and I were recording the tune.

I can tell you that they start in C and D. They are all thumb finger pull off type slap / snap fills.

This is truly an oddball tune but fun to play.

NP : CG3 Melrose Ave

We'll see what I do when I get to those :cool:

Hopefully they won't be too big of a problem.

Ah, I thought he recorded the slap fills separately and used a pick on the rest. I still have some parts left on the guitar/keyboard parts and have unfortunately not started the bass yet.

Actually I do use a pick at times to follow some of the guitar lines and to get a differant tone. Mostly during some recordings. But really not that often and not in Progtology. Thats all fingers following the riffs. Same thing with Prognosis.

Chris Squire is a major influence of mine and his pick style playing is the main reason I have used one. I do use a Pick when we cover Tempus Fugit.

Yes where to keep the pick can be a problem :tickled:

Asmogriff said:
Ah, I thought he recorded the slap fills separately and used a pick on the rest. I still have some parts left on the guitar/keyboard parts and have unfortunately not started the bass yet.