Putting a pair of V30's in a 1960a?

CJWall

Oct 21, 2005
Southwest Florida, USA
Has anyone done this and did you like it?

I'm starting to grow very tired of the GT-75, phasey mess kind of sound.

My question is, do I need 8ohm V30's or 16ohm? I'm assuming 8 if I am replacing two of the GT75's and I run the cab at 16ohms.

Thanks for any clarification!

Charlie

EDIT: Would it be possible/safe to just put ONE V30 in the cab with 3 other GT's? This cab is strictly for recording purposes

hey CJ just check the back of the Gt12t-75 if it says 16 (as all marshalls cabs like mine) buy the 16 version, if not, buy the 8 version, better not mix different ohms, I think you can but you have to rewire maybe... uhm I'm not an expert by any means.
When I replaced my stock G12t75, I've bought V30's with the same ohm rating .
Andy says 8 versions sounds better.
I got a harley benton (8 ohm) and the marshall 1960A with V30's (16Ohm) 8Ohm sounds creamier on the harley benton, we all know Marshall has got a little bit of fizz compared to other cabs.

some people love the x pattern and others hate it

i've got two splawn cabs with eminence manowars/governers in an x pattern (the gov's are similar to v30's...the manowars are damn near identical to gt75's) that have been my main cabs for general use for years now

before i got the last splawn, i had a marshall 1960a that was stock and i swapped two gt75's out for governers...the cab was warmer and more full sounding with the X pattern, and i think it was a big improvement

however the benefit of the x patter shows mostly in the room sound, and it can really play tricks on your ears for recording...if you just wanna record one speaker and you're hearing two it can really throw ya off, also for me it was quite a PITA to mic multiple speakers and make it work

what i ended up with was having the 4x12's for live use, and another oversized 2x12 with v30's for recording