Question for Dave

Dauden

Jun 26, 2006
I'm a big fan of writing my own music, and I'm just curious how you go about writing Woods songs, and if you have much music education. Some people, like Mikael from Opeth simply say they play guitar to write songs, and Mikael has said when he picks up a guitar, thats all he's trying to do, is write songs. Me for example, I just generally fool around until I come up with something I like, then will try to base an entire song off that idea, even if its simply a four bar intro riff. I'm always interested in how bands go about writing their music, so maybe you could offer some insight. Also, did you write all the music for Woods III, or did Dan and Jessica get in on some too? Thanks :headbang:

I don't have any music education. I'm basically self taught on drums, guitar, vocals and writing songs. I did however have the luxury of taking the "Intro to Guitar" class in my senior year at my high school (when I was otherwise still 100% 'a drummer'), where I learned the basic chords (that are still commonly used in most folk metal, Agalloch, Woods etc...). Back then, I never thought of myself as a guitar plater. At the time I simply thought this into the guitar class was a good alternative to earning my one mandatory "arts" credit, instead of taking the grade 9 visual art class where I would have wanted to make "Sull Art" exclusively. It wasn't until University that I really did some serious "Wood Shedding" and seriously got into (neglecting my studies and) learning the guitar and developing the basics of the "WoY" sound.