Question on Mixing/Mastering

nwright

Apr 19, 2005
New Castle, Indiana
www.myspace.com
OK, so I have a new Firepod, and my band is getting ready to record our first EP on it. I have also DL'd demos of Izotope Ozone and our drummer DL'd some Waves bundle for me to try (L2 I think is the main plug in??). We also bought Drumagog for starters (well, our drummer did)...Anyway, I'm still learning Cubase a bit, but I have a few questions...

When mixing drums, do you apply compression to all the drums as a sub mix, or do you do it individually (per track), or both? I'm having trouble learning how to make a sub mix of drums in Cubase and how to apply plug in effects like compression to them. At first, I thought I could do a send of all the drums to the same plug in (i.e. compressor or what have you), but is there an easier way?

Also, when mastering a final mix, do you do it from the recording program, or do you render the mix and then master that from the recording program or another program? I don't really know how to ask it, I guess, but when rendering the track to .wav format, do you set your mix and then apply the mastering things on the master faders (or buss), or do it all after the .wav has been created?

I'll admit I haven't delved into the manual this deeply, it's a huge read and only available on my computer, no actual book. I'm at work (thus no access to manual) and have some free time, so I thought I'd ask you guys.

Compress the drums individually. A kick drum will require different settings than a tom or snare.

When you're done with a mix of a song, render it then import it into a new empty session. Then apply the plugins to the master fader.