Re-Amping confusion

musickey

djenital moosic
Feb 17, 2006
INDIANA
Ok I need some advice. I just recently bought a Radial X-Amp and this is my first attempt at re-amping. I was under the impression that I could record a clean direct signal from my guitar into my DAW and then run the output of my interface (Firepod) into the X-amp and then to the amp and so on. This process worked for me but the signal was not hot enough to really get the gain that was typical out of my Mesa Triple Rect. I even turned the output channel of the guitar track all the way up and the master out on Nuendo all the way up and it still seemed like it was a guitar that had the volume turned down and plugged into the mesa, o yeah and the master on the X-Amp was all the way up as well and the guitar track was recorded at around 0dB. The reason for wanting to do this is lack of space and isolation in my studio the logic is that I could track all the stringed instruments at the same time the drums were being tracked. I would use guitar rig or something on the output of the guitars just to give it a little gain, and remove it once they were tracked while just the clean direct sound of the guitar’s were being recorded. And after I got through tracking the drums I could just re-amp the guitars and I will have killed to birds with one stone. If any of this rambling makes scents to anyone please help a fool out. Sorry so long winded :headbang:

musickey said: