Real Drum editing

lepersmeesa

Badman rudeboy
Apr 10, 2005
London
www.myspace.com
Hey guys,

I was wondering if anyone had a good guide to editing live drums. I have never done it before and will soon be doing some.

The kind of question I have are relating to quantizing and moving snare and kick drum hits more then anything else and how much it will show up when hearing them in relation to the overheads. Also the same question goes for when you add triggered sounds into the equation. How much manipulation of where the actual hit is in relation to the overheads.

Any tips would be much appreciated.

Oh and merry xmas to all! :saint:

can you link up to those vids i cant find :erk:

I read a little about beat detective in sos magazine and i have not had to do any drum editing yet but i know i will on upcoming recording. Probably mostly kick drum in running parts!

Id like to see more about this plug though..............

Id like to see more about this plug though..............

A window pops up and you use it pretty much in the same way that you would use a plug-in that prints directly to track, but it actually isn't a plug-in. It's also ridiculously time-consuming and almost worthless if you have to do it it one track at a time (Pro Tools LE), so it's really only worth anything if you have Pro Tools HD, or that LE expansion thing, which gives you multi-track Beat Detective capability. When you can do all the drum tracks at once (the snare track for example, plus the OH and all the other mics it bled into), THEN it's awesome...otherwise, it's tedious and easier to just edit a bad hit by hand and use your ears to get it in time.

its only the detecting and conforming part that isnt multi track.

so alls you do is make an edit group from you drums

Highlight the whole song,

click,
EDIT - Seperate region - SEPERATE AT transients put pre seperate as 10 ms
Then , go through the song and make sure it hasnt seperated in any silly places .