Recording drums after guitar?

Cacoph0ny

Feb 23, 2008
Here's the deal, I want to start a band and I have an album written, no musicians I know that would be interested so I am going to record it and then look for musicians. I'm a guitarist so I was going to program the drums and record guitar/bass. I was wondering though, when I find a drummer is it feasible to record real drums over the guitar/bass? I know there are some drummers who like to play along to the tracks instead of recording drums very first. BTW, this is the kind of music that doesn't have to be played super tight (chaotic/hardcore)

I'm either going to do that, or just record 2-4 songs as demos and then record from scratch with members (which would probably take a while to find). What do you guys think? If all else fails I guess I could keep the programmed drums but I really hate the idea of releasing an album with programmed drums.

Here's the deal, I want to start a band and I have an album written, no musicians I know that would be interested so I am going to record it and then look for musicians. I'm a guitarist so I was going to program the drums and record guitar/bass. I was wondering though, when I find a drummer is it feasible to record real drums over the guitar/bass? I know there are some drummers who like to play along to the tracks instead of recording drums very first. BTW, this is the kind of music that doesn't have to be played super tight (chaotic/hardcore)

I'm either going to do that, or just record 2-4 songs as demos and then record from scratch with members (which would probably take a while to find). What do you guys think? If all else fails I guess I could keep the programmed drums but I really hate the idea of releasing an album with programmed drums.

How you describe it is pretty much how anyone in a recording environment would do it anyway.