Research

THE RESEARCHER

New Metal Member
Jun 7, 2003
Hello everyone.

I am a student of Anthropology and a fellow headbanger as well. A am working on an Etnography on headbangers, specially focused on studying how the sub-genres of metal interact amongst themselves. If you'd like to help, just answer the essay below.

I'll be profoundly grateful if you take your time and give it your best shot. I intent to show those sissies at my class that the Heavy Metal culture is a rich and very interesting one, so help me out here!

Thank you very much!

Part 1 – General Knowledge about Heavy Metal

- what does heavy metal mean to you?
- how did you get to know heavy metal? How old were you then?
- with what sub-genre(s) (power metal, black metal etc) do you identify with the most at the moment?
- how did you get to know this/those sub-genre(s)?
- what does this sub-genre mean to you musically and in terms of ideology?
- what other sub-genres do you know? What do you feel towards them? Please list and state your opinions. Is there any band that you despise? Which one(s) and why?
- did you ever identify yourself more with other sub-genres? If yes, what were them? Why did you change?
- do you dislike being labeled in any form (headbanger, metalhead etc)? Why?
- for you, what identifies a true metal person?
- for you, what identifies a false metal person?
- how do you feel towards new metal? Please explain why.

Part 2 – Personal data

- how old are you?
- what is your gender?
- how far did you go in schhol? (some college, high school etc)
- where do you live? With whom?
- do you believe in God? Is an adept of any religion? Why?
- do you, or have you at any time, let your hair grow? Why? If you haven’t, would you like to? Why?
- do you suffer any kind of preconceiving? If you do, please explain.
- how do your parents and neighbours act before your musical preferences?
- do you prefer to have quick or long lasting relationships with the opposite sex?