Same project but different sessions...how do you do?

::XeS::

Mar 30, 2005
Italy
www.myspace.com
Sometimes it could happens that you have to record an album, but for example, 4 tracks now and 4 tracks the next month...with other works between the 2 sessions.
It could be a problem because mic positions should be different, expecially the drums, with the result that the 2 sessions will sound different for shure.
How do you face a problem like this?

There may be a better answer...but to me the most obvious solution would be. Take notes and take Pictures.

If I have my amp set at vol, 5 master 5, treb..... etc. etc. This guitar, that cab, those pedals with these settings... and a picture of where the mic is placed,
I would assume you could reproduce the sound well enough that no one would notice the difference.

I did that for a demo 2 songs 1 week and in the next week another 2 songs, it was in a rented studio, so I took a fuck load of pictures of every single angle you could have, then just place everything accordingly and it turned out great, impossible to tell the difference. Also all the levels etc, take note of that as well

Methodology. Some people double and probably quadruple the guitar tracks for example all at the same time. What I mean is they do Riff A then do Riff A again, and 2 times more if quadrupled. However if you know you will be short on time then you must plan. At least do the whole song in one session one time and double it the other time.

For drums : drumagog.

For bass, I would say use your imagination with the plug-ins after.

Otherwise take pics but that is never 100% perfect.

Sometimes they're not that accurate, you can often hear in albums that the drums and guitars sound completely different characteristics-wise (same sound, but different micing spot). Usually between songs, but I have a few albums where even the mastering sounds noticeably different in a couple of songs.