Scales ... help please

Cybermax

Jul 16, 2002
Germany
Visit site
Hey!

I've been playing the guitar for abot 2 years now. I really want to get into soloing now!

So what are the scales i need to learn first? Major scales? Minor scales? Pentatonic Scales??? :confused: :confused:

Please help!

I would start out with your Major and Minor modes first....

Petatonic Scales are great for rock or heavy metal, not so common in death metal...

Most people focus mainly on their minor modes for this type of music.

It is best to get a teacher, so they can show you the standard positional or 3 note variant of the modes.

I would suggest you learn your 3 note per string modes, but most teachers don't teach them that way, from what I've seen at least...

If you need any specific scales or stuff... just ask...

@xenophobe: the 3 note per string modes ....
so one major-scale would be:

1--2---4------------------------------------------------------
---2---4-------------------------------------------------------
1----3-4-------------------------------------------------------
1----3-4---------------------------------------------------------
1--2---4---------------------------------------------------------
1--2 --4---------------------------------------------------------

With the root on the bold 2.

(numbers are for fingers and not for frets).

And there are 5 different major scales arent there?

And what is the "longfrom-scale"? Is it just combined by different major scales?

F Ionian - major scale

(using fret numbers, high E to low E)

Code:
Standard 
1   3   5
    3   5
  2 3   5
  2 3   5
1   3   5
1   3   5

3-note
    3   5 6
    3   5 6
  2 3   5
  2 3   5
1   3   5
1   3   5