Scales

Thor Arise

New Metal Member
Apr 25, 2009
Virginia
Hey Kristian, if you don't mind me asking what kind of scales do you tend to use? I am trying to get into transcription, and as I have little experience with it I need a good starting point.

That's what I got an epiphone special. That guitar is the shit. For a cheap guitar it sounds good as hell.

Mine isn't a special, it's a studio, but my girlfriend has a special and yeah, for that price it's amazing. Nothing tops my explorer though!

Hello there!
It depends on the song but I mainly use:
- the major scale and it´s modes
- harmonic minor (basically only the 1st and 5th mode which is sometimes called Phrygian Dominant)
- the pentatonic/blues scale.

I´ve sometimes used the whole-tone and chromatic scales for certain "out"-sounding phrases but in general I stick to the ones above.
One more cool, odd scale is this one (I dunno the name): 1 2 b3 b5 5 b6. Becker and Friedman used it quite a lot for that Japanese sound. I like that one too.

Cheerzzzzzly!
/kristian

Thanks Kristian! I guess I had better get to work on my modes, I only know Ionian, Aeolian, and Phrygian, plus one position of the Harmonic Minor.
Also Jakob: I will have to check that out, sounds pretty cool.

No probs.

Learn the 7 3-notes/string positions of the major scale and also learn where the strong notes (ie the chord tones) are for each sound/mode.

For example: If you play over a C major chord you use the C major scale right? If you know all those 7 positions you can wail all over the neck in C major and your strong, "good" notes are gonna be C E G (the chord tones of a C major chord). Those are the notes you may want to target at key points in your solo; on strong beats and/or chord changes for instance (...meaning when the chord changes TO a C major of course!)