Scott's guitar playing these days...

thenotman

Mar 25, 2004
I let my friends listen to Volume 8. and he said that the rhythm guitarist has to go. They play guitar and say that all Scott plays on Volume 8 is power chords. They're not the only one who has a problem with Scott as seen by other's comments on this board. When was the last time that guy actually opened a book and practised, or even easier, picked up the thing by himself and practised.

I don't expect Scott to be Steve Vai and to beg for attention but I think his guitar work on Volume 8 compared to Fistful of Metal is downright scary.
I hear quite a few artists in magazines saying "I have matured and don't need to display as much flash as when I was younger".
Fair enough, but if 7/10 chords is a fuckin' power chord it's pathetic.

If I was a rhythm guitarist for Anthrax I wouldn't want the drummer to just have some riffs already written for me for the next album that I have to play.
Fuck that, I'd like to show my own creativity and growth as a musician than just rely on my drummer's fiddling around in his basement. I mean, what the fuck does Scott do in the studio???

"Hey, Charlie so errrmmm, so, errrmm, so how's the new album coming on???
Why the fuck should Charlie do everything and the rest wait for his orders?
Is Charlie being too controlling and not letting the other members have their say or are the rest not interested?? I know I'm gonna get ripped off for writing this thread, but a lot of you will talk shit and will not be honest about certain things that Thrax is screwing up at.
In all honesty I think Scott is a fucking huge talent (he only had 6 months of lessons!). He's super fast, has great feel, puts the music first, has superb precision and has a style all his own. Yet, over the years he's gotten worse at his craft, 10 steps forward and a 100 steps back.