seriously need help with eqing, and making screams sound better

joeban1986

john walsh
Jun 17, 2011
is there anyone out there who has any basic presets for waves, axe fx ultra, pod xt,amplitube 3( i use impulses) just to give me a starting point, ive searched for the andy sneap c4 preset for waves and i cant find shit. it would be deeply appreciated if someone could just give me a bit of help and for me to adjust and find my own sound, through some presets people have made in the past.Im seriously at a loss for words at how frustrated i am currently with my mixxes, the guitars sound thin, and i really need help on fixxing metal vocals, i just dont know how to do it, and please do not post just to say that i am a newbie, trust me i am aware of this, but to avoid long periods of searching like i currently have today, it would be nice to recieve some help from fellow engineers even though i am new to this. Gear i currently possess
rme 800 fireface,
presonus central station,
presonus firestuido,
dbx 376 rack compressor,
the eleven rack, pod xt pro,
and the axe fx ultra
thanks a million to whoever aids me in my quest to find good tones

here is a link to something im working on now any suggestions to this would be deeply appreciated

http://www.sendspace.com/file/n3fsoc

without samples no one can help you at all. I'm pretty sure this thread will burn soon.

edit: ah. posted a sample. no one will hear it. use dropbox.

For the tones, you have a bass guitar in your mixes, yeah? Probably a dumb question but that's where a lot of the beef in guitars come from.
Sneap C4 - http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/52/andysneapsc4settings.gif/

All that's good for is taming the lower end. It's not going to automatically make it amazing.