Snare rolls in DFHS

EddH

New Metal Member
Sep 12, 2007
I'm not a greatly profound user of DFHS, but it seems that a realistic drum roll is hard to achieve? Short of either using the sample roll that comes with it, (which is useless in my opinion!), or sequencing in individual 128th note hits and alternating each individual velocity, there has to be a reasonable way to do this?!
Maybe I'm just being stupid, but any help would be nice!

There are many ways to do it:

1) Play the drums with a midi keyboard in realtime and then adjust any small mistakes by dragging the midi notes around.

or

2) Hand-place the drums with the mouse and then adjust the timing by disabling Snap-To. Then you can freely drag them around as much or little as you need to. Try zooming in.

or

3) Tweak the built-in midi stuff from the drum program.

or

4) Play the midi drums in with an electronic drumkit.

or

5) Whatever way you can think of :)

Actually it's not very unreasonable to click it all by hand. I do it all the time and it doesn't take too long.

I'd actually say that it takes me the same amount of time to program 10 drum tracks that it takes a drummer to set up, mic, soundcheck and record 10 tracks.

Another possible way:

1.) Take a cheap mic and play the snare track ON it, you may also record yourself beating at anything that's got a good percussive sound (strong transients).

2.) Use the KTDrumTrigger to convert the signal to MIDI, connect the output to DFHS.

3.) To get even more realism: record left and right hand with two different mics, DFHS should have separate samples for left-hand snare.
You could even try to hit some thin metallic surface with one hand and something deep-sounding (e.g.: cardboard filled with a pillow) with the other. Then use the freq-filters of the KT-Trigger.