Song Structure

bob

New Metal Member
Feb 21, 2002
Visit site
hey just wondering if anybody could help me out on the exact song structure in typical metal music. i know it ranges alot but i am having difficulties on analizing (metal) music. i am only new to metal and trying to learn more music wise. uno in ur typical song (not metal) you got ur verses bridge chorus etc well how is death metal structured? i have been listening to a few death like bands like cryptopsy, nile and cannibal corpse and i am having problems on how its constructed. there are no particular chours and verses i am having problems telling one from another. can anybody please help ?
cheers

One of the reasons I love metal is it gives the 'rules' of music a damn good kicking.

Stuff like you mention is very often rhapsodic in form - that is normally a set of unrelated ideas which segue into each other.

ABAB form (i.e. verse/chorus/verse/chorus) is prevalent in more simplistic metal, but almost totally eschewed by the death bands you mention.

Cannibal Corpse have the most simplistic song structures of the bunch you mention.
Cryptosy are the most complex, using mostly rhapsodic form, possibly repeating occasional themes, which has a devastating effect. when they do repeat something

I don't like dance music/pop because the whole backbone of the music is built on repetition (oh yes, that and the fact that it's total shit). I believe repetition is a device which should be used intelligently - as do Cryptopsy.

It does make the music an absolute bugger to learn and get into though

Yeah, I like metal's bending of the rules too. I do think predictability can give metal more effect if used in moderation though - you know, like when you hear a song for the first time, a melodic passage has been on for a while but you just know that in the next second, the blast beats are gonna kick in... it's like the musical equivalent of a money shot! :)

Song stucture can be a pain for metal.