Strandberg Guitars -- Thoughts?

Josh Burgess

Feb 18, 2008
Tampa, FL
Been checking out Strandbergs a lot lately and getting somewhat of a boner over them. I'm just wondering how many of you have played one and what you think of them?

I'm highly considering jumping on one of the Strictly 7 Strandberg Boden 8s from the production run they're doing. The extremely ergonomic/light weight nature of them seems so appealing...

Also, Paul from S7 told me that 7 string EMGs fit the routes of the Lace pickups and are wide enough to work well. I find that comforting, considering I'm very used to EMG 707s and can easily get a good sound out of them for my tastes... It would be easy to fall back on them if I don't dig the sound of the Lace pickups for distorted stuff.

Still, they're pretty pricey and I'd have to wait 4 months to get ahold of one, so I'd like to hear some opinions if anyone here has tried them out.

I'm really interested in them, but sadly I've no playing experience of any of them. I like the fan on them a lot; I went with a 27" to 30" fan on my own custom 8-string, and it's perhaps a bit overkill, although still all kinds of ergonomic and fun to play. My woods are kind of similar too, with a swamp ash body, bolt on neck and wenge/maple/bubinga neck. I guess it's not saying much, but it's my favourite guitar ever so far. I have no idea about those Lace pickups either though, I've got Lundgren M8's in mine, and they're slanted instead of straight.

Is this the same strictly 7 that Merrow had quality issues with?

No, Strandberg was partnered with S7 for making them about a year and a half ago? and then the company went tits-up because they made terrible instruments and everyone jumped ship. Strandberg hooked up with World Musical Instruments co. (PRS SE, Chapman, Samick, etc). I'm not sure where the whole "Boden" name originates but this isn't the same as the old S7 made stuff they did in 2013 ish.