Studio Monitors or headphones?

Sora01

how do mix ¯\(°_o)/¯
Oct 7, 2008
Aberdeen
Hey guys,

Having a bit of trouble deciding here, im needing something better to mix with since my £20 crappy headphones just arent doing the job and niether is my misleading speaker system

Now ive heard that acoustics can make a huge difference on monitors, im in quite a small room, bout litrally 2x2 meters square, not sure if thats good or bad, im new to this whole mixing thing.

basic question is, should i splash out between £300 and £400 on some studio monitors or £200 or so on some decent studio headphones? Also how exactly would the monitors fit into my setup? and maybe some suggestions as to which make or model would be awesome too :)

thanks in advance :worship:

I would definitely go for monitors over headphones (well, both, ideally ;)), cuz I find mixing or listening for awhile with headphones just gets fatiguing and annoying. The real evil when it comes to needing room treatment in excessive bass, so a less bassy set of high quality monitors would be ideal, and it doesn't get any better (for the price) than the Tannoy Reveal 5A's (I just got a pair and love 'em, here's my "review"). If you can't afford those, the only other option I think is the Yamaha HS50s, which are good but nowhere near in the same league (the other favorites in the price range, the Yamaha HS80s and M-Audio BX8a's, are gonna have WAY more bass than your little room can handle, especially with no treatment). As for cans, it really depends on your budget and needs; semi-open backed 'phones are supposed to be more accurate for mixing, but provide A LOT less sound isolation than closed backed models; I have a pair of Audio Technica ATH-M50's that I love (fully closed back), they're the best bang-for-the-buck in the headphone world IMO.