Take some time to relisten to Mercy Falls

The Long Way Home

New Metal Member
Apr 26, 2011
Abingdon, MD
Hey everyone, I am new to UM and to the SW forum. I wanted to say that it seems like this is a tight knit group that engages in invigorating conversation and avoids the typical drama (the latter seems rare these days). I'm from Maryland, USA but have lived over several parts of the US and for a short time in Europe via the military.

As for SW, an online friend sent me a track in 2006 and I really liked it (Star of David). At the time I was checking out a lot of bands from various genres and once my computer got stolen I forgot all about them until late 2009. I remembered the song name (Star of David) and typed it into a search engine. I read some reviews and decided to take a chance and buy the cd Waiting in the Wings digitally from Itunes. I was shocked to see it on itunes, despite the incredible reviews due to the fact the progressive metal bands can sometimes be hard to find on those kinds of sites. I was hooked halfway through the first listen! So, then I found out about Mercy Falls and after hearing that, I was really blown away.

With the release of The Great Escape, I kind of lost interest in Mercy Falls, due to the exceptionally smooth production of TGE, improved clarity and tone in the vocal work, and because the songs could be enjoyed "individually". Well, obviously I still considered MF a great album and after a while of not listening to it, like any good album you shelf for a while, you eventually re listen to it again.