Taking a new approach

I_Am_The_Fury

Feb 1, 2008
Switzerland/Colorado
So, I recently picked up Addictive Drums. At first I found it to be almost useless when giving it a try. Since then, I've definitely learned how to make decent use of it. I always used to use DKFH with EZ Drummer, and I was always quite satisfied. I had been extremely satisfied with my last few mixes, but here I decided to start from scratch and start recording some of my band's riffs.

I realize the guitar tone needs work. It is Guitar Rig 4 with C4 and I only did one take of each riff, so we all know this is might be far from tight at some times. One guitar all left, one guitar all right and one bass track. I tried a ton of EQing on the guitar when I first started this thing up today, but I found that I really need those highs that I had been cutting.

Overall, my other mixes are much better in a way, but I am still learning and would like to know what could make this better. If you have any suggestions at all, I will be glad to hear them! Thanks!

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6546538/New%20Trifect%20Song.mp3

Please excuse the shittyness. The leads at the very end was me messing around and obviously fucking up and then just continuing to play random notes. I actually found it sounds ok, and I like weird, off, jazzy type shit, so meh.

EDIT:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6546538/New%20Trifect%20Song%202.mp3

Of course! There we go. That's definitely an improvement! I think you guys know where I went wrong, I can't believe I forgot all about it. Anything else? On another side note, I saw Boris last night, and can't hear all too well today, haha.

I was told that adding some highs on the master would help this mix out a bit, and so I did.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6546538/New%20Trifect%20Song%206%20More%20Highs.mp3

I think it's definitely improving!