The Emeril thread...

ShadowLioness

\m/ \m/
Jan 3, 2002
Suburbs of Chicago
Visit site
Well, I have noticed that I am not the only one who loves Emeril Lagasse...I will watch his shows and drool...of course I am a better baker than cooker, so I am somewhat hesitant to try a lot of these on my own...I usually let someone else do that;) So here it is...post your favorites, or any other recipes you would like to share...even desserts:D

SHRIMP AND SAFFRON RISOTTO

ingredients

· 1 tablespoon olive oil

· 1/2 cup chopped onions

· 2 tablespoons minced shallots

· 2 tablespoons minced garlic

· 2 cups Arborio rice

· 4 cups shrimp stock, infused with 3 threads of saffron

· 1 tablespoon unsalted butter

· 2 teaspoons salt

· 1 teaspoon white pepper

· 1/2 cup chopped green onions

· 1/2 cup chopped tomatoes, peeled and seeded

· 1 teaspoon Essence

· 1/2 pound peeled medium shrimp, tail off and halved

· 3/4 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, plus 1/4 cup for garnish

· 6 fried spinach leaves

· Essence

preparation instructions
In a saute pan, heat the olive oil. When the pan is smoking hot, saute the onions, shallots and garlic for 1 minute. Using a wooden spoon, stir in the rice and saute for 1 minute. Stir in butter and 1/2 cup of the stock at a time until all of the liquid is incorporated, about 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Fold in the green onions and tomatoes. Season with Essence and bring up to boil, about 10 minutes. Fold in the shrimp and simmer for 2 minutes. Spoon the risotto into a shallow bowl. Garnish with fried spinach leaves, Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and Essence.

For a lot of Emeril's stuff, ya GOTTA have the recipe for his ESSENCE...so here it is...

ESSENCE

ingredients

· 5 tablespoons sweet paprika

· 1/4 cup salt

· 1/4 cup garlic powder

· 2 tablespoons freshly ground black pepper

· 2 tablespoons onion powder

· 2 tablespoons cayenne

· 2 tablespoons dried oregano

· 2 tablespoons dried thyme

preparation instructions