The Guitar Thread - style/technique/skill

here I am...able to play really anything I want to, but have no ideas and I'm a horrible song writer.

~006

Yeah, I hear ya there!

I've been playing about 15 years, and when I'm inspired I play real good. I'm best at jamming cover tunes and the like. When I hit record I just play like an android! Some of the clips people post here put me to shame, I really wish I could write some crazy stuff with all those changes.

I don't know how it's done, if they are just jamming a whole rough sketch kinda thing, or doing piece by piece. This is some of the most important questions to me, but usually don't get anywhere.

To me it's easy to learn solos and get fast etc. but composition is where we could all learn and benefit the most!

edit:eek:ops sorry for the resurrection, was reading two threads, and didn't notice the date, anyway, I think my question is still relevant :D

I think the Petrucci Rock Discipline DVD ( mainly his routine ) is the ultimate practice routine. However, it is highly structured and seems to be the opposite of most peoples tendencies. I know dick about theory notation, modes, etc. I learned Metallica and other 80's metal by ear, jammed A LOT with a drum machine and made my own tracks on the cassette deck with me and the drum machine to jam over for 60-90 minutes at time. I have very good rhythm, I think and have been told, however I regret never having learned theory/modes, etc. I also have the songwriting skills of a dead badger. It's a very cute dead badger, not one of those dismembered, disemboweled, partly skinned roadkill badgers you see smeared all over a mile of freeway. More like a cute fuzzy old badger that died of natural causes under a bush.