The Metal Vocals primer and Q&A

Since this is my first post, I’ll do a little introduction. My name is Rodney. I’m a vocal coach, and I run Extreme Vocals studio. I specialize in metal vocals ranging from heavy distortion styles, death growls, screaming, etc, to the more high range styles like classic NWOBHM and Prog metal.

I’ve recently had the pleasure of speaking to, and working with a few people from the forum and thought I would toss in a contribution.

I seem to get the same questions consistently about misconceptions on extreme styles, and see the same bad advice getting handed around the web in videos and forums.

I’ve put together a list of answers to the most common questions and hope it gives some insight for people curious, or getting started with their metal vocals.

I’m open to answering some questions and will do the best I can to follow up, but I’m usually really busy so it may take me a few to get with a reply sometimes.

Hope it helps. Enjoy.

Q: How long will it take me to learn screaming?

A: There’s no way any vocal coach can answer that. It depends on a multitude of variables including- how much do you practice, what bad habits do you need to unlearn, how much former training do you have, do you have any unforeseen health issues that could cause an issue, do you have any mental or emotional issues to solve that can affect your performance (happens more often than you might think).
Often I find this is the question asked by people who shouldn’t be getting into this style of vocal anyway. They view it as a trick, or a trendy thing to do, and as they aren’t really invested in it, they want to know how little time, effort and money they can expend getting it under their belt.

Q: How do I get a scream like_____ from ______?