Thoughts anyone?

Ridiculous that she would download so many songs.

Personally, I like having hard copies of my albums.

As a musician myself, I've got mixed feelings about that. There are basically two kinds of people out there the record companies are hunting down now: the people who just download everything they can get and who also don't support the artists they really admire (being it buying records or going to the shows). I can't feel sorry for them. But there are also fans out there who are extremely dedicated to music. The go to every show they can, they buy merch because they want to show that they are proud fans and they rather have the original record because they appreciate its value and the work the artist has put into it. So, if there is a student who's on a really tight budget and he tries to buy every album he likes, but he is checking out more music than he can buy, I think it's OK, as long as he isn't downloading excessively.

An btw. I think the rating of the value of a song by the record companies is ridiculously exorbitant. Because of that there was a very important verdict made here in Germany a while ago: The sentence was one of acquittal. The judge said that there is absolutely no relation between the hight of the accusation and the actual damage that was done.

It's just a tough topic...