Thoughts on Mackie HR824 monitors?

One of those monitors no one can agree on. Some love them, some hate them. the ones that love them tend to prefer the older non-rounded corner ones.
I like them though I prefer the smaller 624s.
I'd say that's a great price for really solid speakers. Combined with some 5" or even 3" speakers for detailed mids and you're set for a long time.

That's an amazing deal, do it!

The Mackies are solid and they translate well. I've been mixing professionally on them for maybe 7-8 years and have never felt the itch to upgrade. Yes, there are better monitors out there, but the once youre familiar with them the 824s are as good as anything in their price range.

I've owned a set of 824 mark 2s. They're quite different to the mark 1s. They have a ridiculously extended bottom end which is tight as hell. Their problem is they lack detail in the mids and therefore translate really badly. I now have Adam A8Xs and they're superior in every way.

I really wouldn't recommend the Mackies unless you need the insane low end - even at that price. A8X or A7X would be a better purchase.

This was the first set I 'aimed' to get, but any time I brought them up people that owned them would tell me to avoid, and only ever try to use them as client impressors. I'm not sure if they're the best option for mixing.

AS audiogeek said, its a love hate thing with them, personally i love them but they are very bass heavy, and if you do get a pair make sure to go with the old boxed wooden looking ones, from what i remember the overall build and tonal quality of them is way better.

I have had them for about 8 years now. They do sound good and as Ermz said are client impressors. However they are not the best for mixing, translation is hard because they make shit sound too good. I have them in my library now as just a home stereo setup.