Tracking drums for my album, I need to vent

Erkan

mr-walker.bandcamp
Jun 16, 2008
Uppsala, Sweden
mr-walker.bandcamp.com
I'm starting this post with a biiiiiiig looooong drawn out sigh. I'm so tired. Exhausted really. I've been tracking vox for "that" black metal dude's project today and once that was done and he went home, I started tracking drums for my album instead. Well actually I had started a bit yesterday so with today's progress I have tracked about 50% of the drums for the album.

Here is the thing though. No matter how tight I play, I know I will still need to go in and edit pretty much every hit later anyway. I'm aiming for a really modern and "produced" mix and to get that I'll need to quantize the drums in generous amounts. This is pretty exhausting considering I'm both the "studio tech guy" AND the drummer... at the same time. SAME TIME. It's so frustrating and exhausting. It's actually so tiresome, it made me wonder why I'm still a drummer. Or considering myself a drummer at least.

In 2009 I started to notice that my musical strength was shifting away from drums and shifting more into song writing. Or well, it wasn't really shifting AWAY from the drums but rather my song writing skills were growing up on par with my drumming, and exceeding it (by now). I seem to have gotten much better at guitar now as well considering people are commenting on my tightness and stuff rather often (not to brag, but I really appreciate it!). This really makes me wonder why I still keep a drumkit and go through all this hassle... I don't even know if the end result will be better than if I had just bought a good drum sample library and programmed the damn thing. My drumming is probably not gonna sound as good sound quality-wise as opposed to programmed drums but it might sound "good" in other aspects such as the human feel and so on.