triggers in the studio

Fandus

Aug 13, 2009
hey just wondering if anyone has any prefernce on triggers/trigger to midi converters etc.

i'm considering purchasing the set up and was wondering if it has any advantages over slate trigger? i use slate and i get by okay but it usually involves quite a bit of fiddling. do you find the hardware triggers miss triggering as often as slate without having to change the settings?

basically any advice you have on the subject throw my way, i'm new to the physical triggers. :)

I was thinking about buying Steven Slate Trigger! I just don't know what samples come with it.

Honestly... Does Trigger miss SO much hits? I only use Drumagog, but if I tweak it okay, it misses like, only a couple of hits per song, and with some editing on the original track, I can correct the problem.

dont get me wrong trigger is great, i just have to fine tune the settings during fills or anywhere where there is alot of close hits at varying velocities. was just wondering if the hardware versions are any better, to be able to have the midi sent into my daw ready to go would be the best option for me time wise.

To be honest dude if you're having that many problems with trigger you might be doing something wrong. Have you tried playing with the high pass filter and turning up the input gain? Hardware triggers do a better job of getting triggered considering they're just blips, but tbh ever since I bought trigger I've stopped using my D-Drum pro's. Just haven't needed it I haven't had any problems!

Also when's Hallower going to come play a few more shows over in Perth? Played with you guys last time at the Civic I think, really liked your stuff! You guys made the best impression over here SO MANY Hallower shirts haha.