Kick drum triggers for live use - need help

Dylan S

Celephai
Feb 27, 2009
Australia
Hey guys,

My band played a show last night and one of the guys from a local radio station was talking to me after we played about maybe trying to get some triggers for the kick drums for live use, to help the mix open up a lot better.

Now I know pretty much nothing about triggering live drums. I have limited knowledge about the possibility of recording drums with crappy tones/mics/etc, and then using drumagog or APTrigga in a DAW to trigger samples like Slate samples or whatever else in a recording context, but that is basically the extent of my knowledge.

What I basically need from you guys is just a basic run down on how triggers for live use work, whether or not it would be something relatively easy to get set up, and which triggers are the 'right ones to buy' for a sort of death metal/behemoth type context/sound.

Is the trigger you buy also directly related to the sound that comes out? or is it more to do with the quality of the hardware, and then you can put your own kick samples in there or what?

Sorry for all the questions, but I guess I could get some good answers from you guys here because a lot of you know your stuff. I'm just terribly unsure of what is good and how to go about it.

Also, this may seem obvious but I'm unsure...he has a single kick drum with a double kick pedal. Would he need to buy 2 triggers? Or would the one work ok with 2 kick pedals?

Thanks guys. :)