tuning down bass advice

the alumnus

Nov 25, 2002
Visit site
recently i've been thinking of tuning my 4 string down to b. anyone have any advice on this subject? is tuning down on a bass more difficult than a guitar? should i buy a 5 string set and throw away the high g?

I'd personally just buy a 5 or 6 string if you want to switch back and forth between B and E. There's no point in buying a B, then wanting to play in E standard two days later. I know that it sounds drastic, but trust me, you'll learn to appreciate having all the extra notes at your finger tips.

If I'm not mistaken, there's some MTD 4 strings specifially made for downtuning to like B...

I'm no bass expert, but if you're using a 4 string and you want to downtune to anything past standard D-C# (depending on your bass), you're probably going to want to raise your action a bit and possibly change the gauge of your strings.

Or you could just buy a 5 string.

-Travis

There are several things you might need to consider before you tune down your bass. If you are talking about tuning all strings down a 4th, ie. BEAD then you will need to use the appropriate strings. Using E A D and G strings respectively won't really have the tension even if you use very heavy gauge strings. If you are going to do this as well you might want to consider having your bass set up when you do it as this kind of change will probably alter intonation and tension. You will also need to make sure that your nut can take the thicker strings.