Tyr: Bass Technique question/guidance wanted!

panzer0x

In Maya's Grip
Jun 16, 2003
Oslo
Ahoy! I've been playing bass for about 1 1/2 years now, and are progressing quite nicely. However, I have trouble finding a good 3 finger technique to learn since I want to play faster-than-average music,(speedy jazz/death stuff) and my 2-finger technique doesnt cut it (8th notes at about 230bpm max :erk: )

Got any Tips, exercises, suggestions? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
(P.S. I believe I go to the same school as your niese(?)( søskenbarn?), unless she is lying, which I don't think she is :) )

I've made a good deal of posts on this subject before, just do search on the posts I've made(especially the ones I've done on Steve DiGiorgio's forum here at UM), and you'll find a few on right-hand technique. But basically, there isn't any textbook answer to develop speed other than what you might have heard before, practice - alot of practice. Use a metronome, start slow and gradually increase the tempo, don't rush it, you have to learn to walk before you can run....
Say hello to Elin from me then :)

Reactions: Henrik Main
Thanks for the reply. I spent some time reading your, Steves, and others posts on this subject and learned quite a bit. I decided to put away my 1-2-3 right hand technique, and have started with the 3-2-1 technique instead. It falls more naturally for me, and will hopefully work out well. The goal is 16'ths in 150 bpm before christmas :)

Tyr said:
Say hello to Elin from me then :)

I will :)

My bass teacher told me that the 1 and 2 fingers are stronger then the 3 finger, so in theory you can play just as fast with the 1 and 2 fingers as you would with 3 of them.

I believe the 3-2-1-2 seems to be most simple...

I dont know really if what I have read is through, but I think I should be able to thrust him, after all his years of experience

DeathMetal said: