VST Bass guitar that use midi tracks?

Jaekae

Legendary Member
Feb 16, 2009
Gothenburg, Sweden
Ive read somewhere that it was possible to use a normal vsti amp simulator to play a miditrack, but when i tried studio devils bass vst demo i didnt get any sound

i made a midi bass track in guitar pro and exported it.

Is there any other bass sims that this could work with?

Take my advice with a grain of salt since Im no expert. But if understand you correctly I believe what you wanna do is beef up a synth bass to sound as close to natural as you possibly can.

what I would do is...
1. Find a decent bass soundfont (guitar pro stock wont do it). You can find these all over the net.
2. Export it as a WAV because I think youre trying to run it through a VST as a MIDI and I could be wrong but I dont think thats gonna work.

Bass sims? Do you refer to some bass vsti?
I just have one bass vsti that is Hardcore Bass.
You can also try Trilogy bass, Reason Bass or Bass patch in SampleTank, HyperSonic...
If you like something like bass synth, I've not ever used them, so I have not had any experience.

bass sims = bass simulator :p

i meant something like EZDrummer but for a bass guitar instead of drums,

and ive found one that works good enough now

Ive read somewhere that it was possible to use a normal vsti amp simulator to play a miditrack, but when i tried studio devils bass vst demo i didnt get any sound

This is the problem: "Vsti amp simulator". There is no such thing.

You want a VSTI (Virtual Studio Technology Instrument). That's a vst plugin that receives midi data and produces sound, as a virtual instrument. And it produces the sound either by reproducing samples, or by some kind of synthesis, or a combination of both.

Studio Devils Bass is an amplifier simulator. It can't do anything with midi data, save maybe automate some of its parameters. It takes audio and processes it to sound like it passed through a bass amplifier+speakers+microphone.

Hey Chris!