Wanting to remodel - Room sound

Viral_Tyler

Oct 12, 2011
New Mexico, USA
Hello, first off I’d like to introduce myself, I’m a guitarist going on 12 years and a musician going on 16 years, I also sing and scream, play drums, bass guitar, and keyboards/piano.

I am living at my folk’s place right now and I would like to turn my room (I have pictures) into more of an audio studio and I need some advice from people with experience. Now, I’m on a budget, don’t know how much of a budget but I have to spend as little as possible.

A lot of people on these forums seem to be very educated and I’ve been reading every day for about a week now and have built up a 75 page compendium of notes for audio production, so thank you in that aspect. (Especially Glen for the drum acoustics) I plan on going into metal production, or at least just for recording my bands sake.

This is what I am working with:

DSC03059.jpg

DSC03060.jpg

Carpet, on a sub floor, it’s a remodeled single-car garage (that means it is a rectangular room). The dimensions of the room are within inches of 10’ wide, 19’ long and 8’ high. I have wooden cabinets/closets and a window seat in the very far back of the room, and there is an opening to the laundry/pantry room without doors, but we will add wooden doors with slots to prevent some sound coming through and it will still allow ventilation.

(During recording hours I will hang blankets over the slots. I also have camouflage blankets covering the windows for light, but it also helps with the sound diffusion I believe, and keeps some sound from coming in outdoors, as the walls are ALL exterior walls)

DSC03061.jpg

I have a small collection of yellow foam pads and recycled paper/Styrofoam egg cartons from previous years of... pack ratting… because I wanted sound proofing. So I’m planning on making some panels to put on the walls, cloth will be across the top of the panel, and underneath there will be the foam / cartons.