Waves C4

bryan_kilco

Nov 22, 2007
Poconos, PA
I'm still fairly new to multi-band comps.

Picked up C4 the other day when it was on sale.

Can anyone give some basic tips/pointers/tricks to try out for maybe a few different instruments?

Is the general "rule" to attenuate frequencies rather than boost?

I'm still a little unsure as to how this differs from an EQ.

Sorry for the newb-ness.

I sometimes use it to tighten up the 200-450hz range on guitars or bass. I think I bought it all those years ago because it was populair and Andy used it on some releases. There should be a screenshot of Andy's setting on here for guitars, he used to use, sometimes.

Nowadays I mostly us it on overheads or as a kind of deesser.

A very versatile tool. Maybe start with searching andys preset and try on some of your own tracks.

eq doesnt compress and a normal compressor doesnt let you choose wich frequencies you want to compress.

Well the main use for this is to control frequencies that are very dynamic. Works great to tame the low end. There is a well known snapshot of andy sneap C4 for guitar palm mutes. It´s one example of how you could use it.

Guess this is Andy's preset?

AndysWavesC4Compressorsetting.gif

I'll have to play around with this.

Just use the mastering preset, don't remember the exact name but its a good start. I love the C4, it's a great tool to evening things out, bass, vocals guitars whatever :)

Guess this is Andy's preset?

AndysWavesC4Compressorsetting.gif

I'll have to play around with this.

What I LOVE about that 'preset' is how it was definitely created in a mid session flurry of creativity.

How do I know?

Most of the controls, are at the c4's default settings.

Might sound like a noob question but what's the difference between the C1, C4 and the C6?

Might sound like a noob question but what's the difference between the C1, C4 and the C6?