What brand cable do you use?

CantoX

Mar 10, 2006
Kuwait
www.myspace.com
Man, one of the cables that I've been using for 2 years has finally died and I really want a new one.

It was a Fender Vintage Voltage, I thought that it was decent for the price and it worked but I did notice that the tone never did shine through it.

Recently I purchased a Horizon speaker cable for use with my pedal but now I'm using it for my guitar cable because the last one died. I notice a big difference in tone. The distortion gain seems lighter and everything seems brighter than usual.
With the Fender Vintage Voltage I noticed more gain but there was more noise and less sustain with my notes.

Anyways, point is I'm looking for a new cable and would like one to be recommended. I'm looking for something that is 18ft+ and will not kill my wallet.

I'm looking at those red Dimarzio cables, and even those Planet Waves cables. But please, suggest away!!

Also, feel free to discuss cables and tone in general. I for one think that cables make a big difference in tone.

I use Planet Waves Monster cables. They're more expensive than your "average" cable, but I'm the kind of person who breaks things easily. I haven't yet broken either of the monster cables I bought a long time ago. And the replacement policy is excellent: lifetime warranty, even if I cut it in half myself with scissors, they'd replace it no questions asked, once at least. Haven't needed to invoke it yet.

Do NOT use speaker cables as instrument cables & even more so, NEVER use instrument cables as speaker cables, you'll definately screw up your amp/cab/combo. Monster cables do rule, and Whirlwind (don't know if they still exist...) also had the a lifetime gurantee. I think I'm using a Dub-made cable currently, if it isn't a home brewed, its either a monster or an old whirlwind...

I make my own. It's cheaper and they're way better if you buy the right parts. And if you can do basic soldering. I'm sure that Ken and J-Dub can.