Whats the relationship between Dark Tranquility and In Flames

Pitiless Wanderer

Jun 14, 2002
Salt Lake City, UT
Im new to DT and even tho I've been into IF for a while I still dont know the relationship between the two bands. I take it it's some translation thing with lyrics? Is that right? Is there a rivalry between the bands?

I believe Fridén and Stanne along with Sundin and other were the original Dark Tranquillity. Fridén did vocals and Stanne did guitaring (Stanne profess he did poorly playing guitar). Then Fridén joined In Flames and Stanne... you know the rest.

http://www.inflames.com/band/bio/bio.html

Sundin did most of the earlier English version of In Flames lyrics.

And another relationship between Dark Tranquillity and In Flames... The early members of the band, Hammerfall, had Strömblad, Sundin, and Stanne.

honestly musically there really isnt much. Most I can tell is they follow the same CD time line, besides having In Flames live cd, they had eachothers vocalists on their respective first cds...their both "gothenburg bands". Both one of the more well known bands in the melodic death scene (which of course is arguable among l33ts but im not gonna bicker on that issue).

Oh yeah and both kick ass! :headbang: hehe, other than that their musically verrry different...so just general similaritys...

And one more... Sundin does the CD cover art for the newer In Flames CDs.

First of all i know they're good friends, Niklas made the cover of Tokyo Showdown, Anders played bass in skydancer, Stanne didd vocals on Lunar Strain and Niklas translated the lyrics till Colony...That's it!

in flames started with mikael stanne singing (on their first record), and back then mikael was a guitarist in dt too. then, anders friden (the original dark tranquillity singer on their first release, skydancer) left the band and became the frontman of in flames.