Why do I still hear the dry guitar sound when using my VST amp sim?

Gothic Metaller

New Metal Member
Jun 12, 2008
A total noob question, I'm sure.

Background:

I'm using a Zoom G2.1u. It is connected to my computer by USB. The Zoom has a headphone/stereo out. I am using headphones, and ASIO drivers. I am using dirthead (and Wagner, and some others) as a VST with Reaper as host.

Question:

Why do I still hear the dry guitar signal when I am playing? I fiddled around several hours last night trying to figure this out, but cannot.

What I want is for my dry signal to go to the computer, be processed by the VST, and then come back to me through the headphones. Problem is, I get that, plus the dry signal that is being played.

What am I doing wrong? What am I missing?

Thanks to anyone who takes a look at this. I am loving this new world of amp sims, impulses, etc.

Tried activating direct monitoring? (A little yellow speakerish icone on each channel)

EDIt: I think it has something to do with the zoom, it sends the direct sound to the headphones as well, try muting it or routing it away from the headphone out

Tried activating direct monitoring? (A little yellow speakerish icone on each channel)

EDIt: I think it has something to do with the zoom, it sends the direct sound to the headphones as well, try muting it or routing it away from the headphone out

I tried clicking on the little speaker: the VST sound comes on, but there's huge static, popping :ill:

How would I mute the direct sound, or reroute it?

Should I just buy a different USB interface?

Thanks. :)

I would suggest so. If all you want to do is record guitar get something cheap like a toneport.

Okay, should I get the bottom-of-the-line Toneport for $60.

What about Firewire interfaces?

How about that new Zoom ZFX, or should I stay away from Zoom?