wrist numbness & pain

I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now and just recently, as in the past few days, I've noticed my right wrist feeling kind of numb and weaker than usual, making something like alternate picking much more of a chore (and I'm not playing any more often than I was say 3 months ago). Obviously I know I just need to rest it for a while and not play, since this is the first time I've really experienced this, but is there any specific exercises I can do to try to strengthen it and/pr prevent this from continuing to happen?

I used to get a bit of wrist pain, but usually only when I was concentrating too hard to have an absolute strict technique. The best I've found to do is a fairly decent warmup chromatics alternate picked and hammer-on for a while. Some people recommend stretching your arms and doing circles with your wrists before playing. I've also heard wrist bands help.
Don't know too much on the subject though sorry.

Cynical Bastard said:
I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now and just recently, as in the past few days, I've noticed my right wrist feeling kind of numb and weaker than usual, making something like alternate picking much more of a chore (and I'm not playing any more often than I was say 3 months ago). Obviously I know I just need to rest it for a while and not play, since this is the first time I've really experienced this, but is there any specific exercises I can do to try to strengthen it and/pr prevent this from continuing to happen?

You must STRETCH before each practice session yo, and you must not play for too long a time period at once! Rest once every hour at least, when possible. Search for instructions on how to stretch your wrists and fingers on the net.

Sincerely,

Dr. Mattias

If that pain/numbness does not go away in a few days...stop playing for a few days, if not a week!!!