Wrist pain in frethand?

I just joined a band a couple of weeks ago and so I'm spending a lot of time rehersing/practicing etc I notice that when I play powerchords for a while i get this pain in the top of my wrist and i find it rather worrying. I only have this pain though for powerchords, for single note riffs and other stuff I don't have this pain. Normally when i play powerchords i put my index on the root note and i just bar the other two notes with my ring finger. Could this be why?? Any suggestions on how to get rid of this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

man i am a pro guitarist and have had this pain, and now its very bad, you need to streatch like hell at least 20 min if you feel this pain, if you dont streatch you will get carneal tunnel

In addition, Maybe raise your guitar strap so you are not playing the guitar so low. Do some stretches. Rub aspercreme on your wrist before you start. Also, you will get used to some discomfort. It's like those muscle builders say, "No Pain, No gain." However, If it is a persistent pain, that is not good.

How do you guys stretch... Do do exercices on the guitar or some other ideas?

It sounds to me like you're playing in an unfavourable position, or maybe that you're using a lot of force when playing power chords. Try tilting the guitar up a bit to relieve your wrist and see if it gets any better.

The only times I've had pain in my hands, is when I'm playing neck-heavy guitars. Having to support the neck while doing finger acrobatics gives me the cramps.

just move your wrist backwards and forwards and roll it around a little. If it hurts apply ice and heat alternately. and use the aspercreme. If it still hurts all the time, go see a doctor

diabolical vengeance said: