A little advice from some fellow guitarists?

Katabasis

Sep 24, 2003
near Sydney, Australia
Visit site
OK, so I've been playing guitar for around 4 years now, and have never yet used a pedal (for an extended period of time). Our band is getting closer to recording and performing live, so I thought I'd pick up a pedal or two.

Any suggestions?

I've heard the Boss metalzones are quite good...I know it's a bit overdone and all, but it IS a classic. Any opinions on this? Our music gets pretty extreme at times, so I would need something fairly powerful (and a little dirty) to give it the right sound. But I don't just want to muffle everything so no one knows what notes I'm hitting.

Anyway, any help would be...well...helpful. And appreciated.

Thanks.

Whatever your style is, don't get a metalzone. It's classic because it's so crappy.

You're looking for a distortion pedal?

EDIT:
I recently bought a Zoom Tri-Metal, which is a discontinued model because people didn't believe that Zoom can make quality products and therefore it wasn't a big success. Here are some reviews of the aforementioned D-pedal http://www.harmony-central.com/Effects/Data/ZOOM/TM_01_Tri_Metal-01.html

im not really a big fan of pedal distortions. most of the ones that i have tried have smothered the tone of the guitar. i have also never really sat down and tweaked around with one. but, recently i did purchase a boss ps-5 super shifter. this is the coolest little 150 dollar piece of metal that i have ever purchased. i can make some pretty strange sounds. a dd-6 delay is also pretty damn cool.

as far as distortion, i like to stick with on-board. i run my guitar into a line 6 flextone II throught a low gain plexi channel, then out into my extra effects, and into a marshall jcm 2000, and i combine the gain that i get from the two amps. it is a nice smooth distortion, similar to the sound of mikael's guitar on still life.

its all about trial and error, then turning the error into something cool....