Any advice for a beginner guitarist?

ham

GAK! \m/ \m/
Mar 4, 2002
Perth, Australia
users.bigpond.net.au
I've just really picked up playing guitar a little while ago, I've been playing for about 3 or 4 months...
so far i'm pretty damn crap, but i just want some advice/feedback(?) from you guys (especially those that've now been playing for like 10 years)... i'm not having any lessons or anything, I'm basically trying to teach myself all I can from books, the internet and from friends.

So far all I'm capable of (with some sloppiness occasionally, I admit) is miscellaneous metallica riffs (black album era mostly), and some simple 3 chord'ers from nirvana and pearl jam.

Do you think professional lessons are an efficient learning means? or just a waste of dosh? what advice would you give any beginner?

I practice as often as i can, at least until i feel disheartened by my sloppiness... usually anywhere from half an hour to 2 hours a day, and on weekends if i'm not busy i'll go hardcore for like 6 hours or something.

The most complicated thing i can play is the nothing else matters (Metallica) introduction =]

If anyone tells me that I should be able to crank out opeth riffs by now, i'm gonna slap ya

I know this ought to be off topic, and i'm sorry, but im too tired to really care, so bitch all you can while its worth it :(

Well, I'll offer my bit of advice: