Looking for heavy metal guitar lessons for a beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.

GotGame36

New Metal Member
Oct 18, 2006
Looking for someone to teach me how to play the electric guitar. I am a total beginner and looking to learn how to play a style between Ted Nugent and Dimebag Darrell.

I'm located in the O'Fallon, St.Peters, and St.Charles, MO areas.

I will pay for the lessons.

You can reply here or send me an email to gotgame36@yahoo.com.

Or if you can recommend someone who can teach me.

Thanks

If you want to play 'heavy metal' or sound like someone you first have to learn how to play guitar. Everyone learns the sameway. There is no learning heavy metal or this or that. Get a rythmn guitar chord book and start there strumming chords. Learn basic scales hammer ons and pull offs,etc... just sit there for a few hours. It's not easy and takes years. Starting out and wanting to have a specific style or sound will prevent you from learning how to play. You have to first have a general concept of how the instrument is played in a general sense in order to eventually be influenced or play something you like.

Thanks for the advice but I realize I have to learn how to play first before I can find the style I want.

I meant it in away that the teacher likes that style of music, I didn't want some old dude that teaches the band at middle school.

Play scales. Alot. And power chord riffing. Those two are essential skills to start developing to be able to play metal. That said it will take ALOT of work. If you want to get good quickly practice at least 3-4 hours a day.

Also, don't fall into the trap of only practicing "easy" songs, like Beatles or Nirvana or whatever. Challenge yourself, or you won't improve nearly as fast.

Remember, it might be pretty boring to practice hours on end every day for a while, but when you finally are able to start playing music you love, it'll have all been worth it.